Notice Requirements to Maryland Local Government
In order to make a personal injury claim against a Maryland Local Government or its employees, notice of the claim must be given within 180 days after the injury.
Failure to give required notice within 180 days after the injury will disqualify you from making a claim against a Maryland Local Government. However, if a Plaintiff fails to give the required notice but can show that the defendant was not prejudiced by the lack of notice, a Maryland court is permitted to entertain the suit.
With the exception of Anne Arundel County, Baltimore County, Harford County and Prince George’s County, notice is required to be given in person or by certified mail, return receipt requested by the claimant or the claimant’s representative, to the County Commissioner, County Council, or Corporate Authorities of the defendant Local Government. In Baltimore City, notice can be given to the City Solicitor and in Howard and Montgomery Counties to the County Executive.
In Anne Arundel, Baltimore County, Harford County, and Prince George’s County, notice is required to be given in person, or by certified mail, return receipt requested, by the claimant or the claimants representative, to the County Solicitor or the County Attorney.
Finally, notice is required to be in writing and must state the time, place and cause of the injury.
Please be aware that the above listed notice requirements are believed correct as of the date of authorship. It is recommended, however, that you consult with an experienced and qualified attorney regarding your own particular injury or accident and whether any notice requirements apply.
Attorney Steve Heisler
Steve Heisler decided in 1996 that he was going to focus his law practice exclusively on injury cases. Since then, he has been representing injured people against insurance companies, disreputable medical practitioners and Big Pharma, and doing it with compassion, honesty and level-headed rationality. [ Attorney Bio ]